Elton John World banner

Elton John World News: Elton BBC Radio 2 session

Elton BBC Radio 2 session-- Posted by This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Elton performed for a BBC Radio 2 Studio Session at the BBC Radio Theatre in London on Septembr 9

Sunday 9 September 2001 @ 18:27 - GMT

The session was at 1.00pm (1300 GMT) and was recorded by web-cam for future internet broadcast and the radio show. Introduced by Paul Gambuccini, it will also be broadcast at 6.30-8.00pm on BBC Radio 2 on Saturday September 22, 2001.

Here's the songs Elton performed, he started at 1.00pm and finished at 2.30pm:

  1. Funeral for a Friend/Love Lies Bleeding
  2. Someone Saved My Life Tonight
  3. Philadelphia Freedom
  4. Birds +
  5. I Want Love +
  6. American Triangle +
  7. Ballad of the Boy with the Red Shoes +
  8. This Train Don't Stop There Anymore +
  9. Original Sin +
  10. All the Young Girls Love Alice
  11. Tiny Dancer
  12. Levon
  13. Rocket Man
  14. Saturday Night's Alright (For Fightin')

The old classics also featured new variations.
+ denotes a new song from the forthcoming album Songs From the West Coast

As the Daily Mail reported on September 10, 2001, Elton received a standing ovation for the 90-minute performance. He said: "This is a very special moment for me. Over the years I've played to 20,000 one day and 2,000 the next.

"But playing to a crowd as small as of 250 takes me back all the way back to where it all began more than 30 years ago. This is about me going back to my roots because I started playing in clubs that held this sort of crowd."